Shoes Technology // Adidas Technology – Part 1

SHOES TECHNOLOGIES

I would like to thanks my dear friend Lucy for all the time that she spent writing this wonderful post for all of us enthusiastic of athletic shoes . . .

The inspiration for this post came to me on Monday, as I was looking for some Adidas shoes.
After 6 minutes of just watching soccer shoes for my brother, I finally choose the one I wanted, a Predator PowerSwerve in Green, which I liked because of its design…
While I searched inside my tote for my wallet, I spotted a pair of metallic blue ones an F50.8 Tunit; I got to them as quickly as I could since a tall and creepy looking guy was looking at them from a distance with the intention of buying them.
Once I got them I couldn’t help to turn around and look at the tall man with my victory smile of “I got to them first”. (Obviously there were more at the store but it was fun anyway!)

With both pairs of shoes in front of me, I was in a dilemma, which one should I pick?
To me the only difference was the color, so I look for some male advice and asked one of the salesclerk at the shoes store, he told me that the green ones were better and I obviously asked why, he responded saying
Cause they have PowerPulse technology ” I asked him what was that and he just told me “It’s a technology” ….?#@_? ¿

With that answer I wasn’t convinced at all of taking the green ones, so I bought the F.50 Tunit in metallic blue.

I would like to dedicate this post to my favorite salesclerk!!, and of course to all of those who just want to know what a3,EVA,Clima Cool means in Adidas shoes…
Enjoy! 🙂

*Since Adidas technologies are quite a lot, I’ll have to leave Nike and other brands for another post…otherwise I would be typing forever”

Shoe Parts and technologies

When it comes to sneaker technology, shoes are divided into three major areas: the upper, the midsole, and the outsole (for further information check our shoe parts post). Depending on the materials and combinations used, one model of sneaker can vary greatly from another.

The Upper

Uppers, the top part of the shoe with the laces, fancy designs and bright colors that holds the shoe together, usually come in one of three materials, leather, synthetic leather, and mesh.
Special editions, retro and vintage models, Converse and casual shoes like the Nike Vandal, the Air Force 1, and the Nike After Party for women may have a canvas upper. The most famous shoes to have an all canvas upper are the Converse All Stars.

The Midsole

Midsoles are used to cushion and provide support and protection for the foot. There are four types of materials used in commercially produced sneakers. Midsoles are often constructed of a combination of materials. Midsole materials are Phylon, polyurethane, Phylite, and EVA.

Phylon

Phylon is very lightweight, low-profile and responsive. Phylon is made of EVA foam pellets that are compressed, heat expanded and then cooled in a mold. Compression-molded Phylon Midsoles can be sculpted into a variety of designs that are identified by their fine wrinkles.

PU or Polyurethane

PU is the most dense, durable and stable midsole material. PU is poured into a mold to create a firm midsole that provides maximum protection from impact. PU is identified by its smooth rubbery feel and tendency to turn yellow with age. PU is the heaviest midsole material, but it is also the most durable

Phylite

Phylite is an injection-molded unit made of a combination of 60% Phylon and 40% rubber. Phylite is lighter than rubber, but heavier than Phylon and functions as both midsole and outsole. By eliminating a separate midsole and outsole the weight of the shoe is greatly reduced and flexibility is increased.

EVA

EVA is soft, light and flexible. It is the least expensive midsole material and is often used in entry-level shoes. Midsoles are cut and shaped from flat sheets of EVA foam. EVA will compress and become flat over time as the air trapped within the foam is squeezed out. Once EVA is compacted, it does not return to its original shape and no longer provides cushioning. EVA compresses faster than other midsole materials.

Adidas Technology

Adidas Logo

ClimaCool ™ Technology

Clima Cool Technology

ClimaCool™ is the adidas technology designed to keep feet cooler and drier. It combines maximum functionality through a unique 360° ventilation system with progressive and stylish design.
Each part of the shoe “breathes”, combining moisture management and maximum ventilation. The result is a shoe that helps the foot maintain its optimal temperature. With a new and highly visible technology, ClimaCool™ is adidas keystone.

AdiPrene ® Technology

AdiPrene Technology
Protection for your heel. Exclusive to adidas, adiPRENE® is an elastic material which responds to the cushioning needs of your moving foot.

adiPRENE® absorbs impact forces, providing superior cushioning and protection.
An adiPRENE® insert also provides both long-term cushioning and comfort.

Torsion System ® Technology

Torsion Technology

High-performance athletic footwear must protect and support the foot while still allowing it to function in a natural manner.
Adidas TORSION® SYSTEM stabilizes the foot, providing lightweight arch support while allowing the forefoot and rearfoot to move freely.

GO TO –> ADIDAS TECHNOLOGIES PART 2

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “Shoes Technology // Adidas Technology – Part 1”

  1. suprihadi Says:

    very good information in shoe-tech

  2. Robert Payne Says:

    I am trying to buy another pair of adiPRENE TSC winter shoes. They are with AQUAPROTECT and designed for snow.

Leave a Reply

